

## The Presidents Occasional Newsletter

Hi,

John Smith Memorial Time Trial Series 2021

The last event in the series was an "Invitation Team Competition" held over 2 laps of Astwood on the 18th September. Ten teams were invited and 7 took on the challenge.

Equipe Velo took the lion's share of the prize money. They had Leigh Smith as fastest rider, on the back of a week riding in the Alps, Rob Fletcher placed third, and as fastest team with Andy Rose 13th, their winnings totaled £130, more than half the prize pot! Milton Keynes Road Club challenged them hard with Aaron McCaffrey in second place backed up by Ian Knight 6th and Sean Dines 17th (on a road bike). Their team time however was 1 minute 28 seconds slower than Equipe Velo. It was nice to see two ex NBRC men on the podium. (We taught them well).

With 100% turnout for the race, despite a very misty drive to Astwood, conditions improved markedly for the 9am start, the sun burnt through the mist and a windless morning provided ideal conditions. One rider missed his start and had to ride at the end of the list. David Creese was unlucky to puncture and had a painful ride back on the flat tyre. However, the format of three riders to count enabled Chronos RT to post a time with their three other riders for 6th team on the day.

We were pleased to get 7 teams competing with 2 solo riders, perhaps Corley Cycles and CC Luton, on hearing of the success of the event, will manage to field teams next year if we repeat the exercise in 2022, possibly including the ladies. Watch this space.

Our timekeepers had a bit of a tussle with the results but got there in the end. Thanks to all who helped with this task, fortified by the Bike Bus coffee and cakes. John Reed was observed consuming the largest ever slice of cream cake, luckily, he was riding home after the event and so would burn off most of the calories before his cross race at the Bowl on Sunday.

Graeme Church, one of our most regular riders, decided to take these photos of the event for which we are grateful.

We would like to thank all riders who have supported our series this year and all the helpers who have made it possible as we try to return to normal life post pandemic.







Aaron McCaffrey



Rob Fletcher



Andy Rose

## Result of the race......

Position	Start	Name	Club	1st Lap	Time
	No.				
1 <sup>st</sup>	23	Leigh Smith	Equipe Velo	22.35	45.52
2 <sup>nd</sup>	15	Aaron McCaffrey	MK Road Club	22.24	46.04
3 <sup>rd</sup>	16	Rob Fletcher	Equipe Velo	22.48	46.22
4	20	Stuart De Freyne	QN Racing	23.00	46.41
5	24	Glenn Utteridge	TMK	23.20	46.42
6	28	Ian Knight	MKRC	22.40	46.47
7	17	James Richardson	NBRC	23.25	47.28
8	3	Martin Quill	TMK	23.42	47.43
9	11	Roy Chamberlain	Corley Cycles	23.32	48.01
10	5	James Stewart	QN Racing	24.14	48.07
11	18	Adrian Cox	TMK	23.42	48.11
12	2	Mark Halliday	NBRC	23.47	48.20
13	1	Andy Rose	Equipe Velo	23.44	48.36
14	9	Robert Saunders	NBRC	23.41	48.45
15	27	Stewart Wilson	QN Racing	23.43	49.13
16	10	Harry Weedon	TMK	24.15	49.22
17	22	Sean Dines	MKRC	23.58	49.27
18	7	Campbell Noon	MKRC	24.21	49.43
19	12	Ian Markham	Chronos RT	24.54	50.46
20	21	Martin Day	LBRCC	25.07	51.10
21	25	Nigel Byrne	CC Luton	25.16	51.38
22	8	Richard Hill	Equipe Velo	24.59	51.59
23	19	Kevin Creese	Chronos RT	25.20	52.13
24	14	Robert Schumann	LBRCC	26.03	53.45
25	26	Michael Bannister	Chronos RT	27.18	55.29
26	13	Paul Deering	QN Racing	27.27	56.26
27	6	David Powell	LBRCC	28.56	59.03
28	4	David Creese	Chronos RT	46.54	DNF
					Punctured

**Team Competition** 

Position	Team				Time
1 <sup>st</sup>	Equipe Velo	Leigh - 45.52	Rob - 46.22	Andy - 48.36	2.20.50
2 <sup>nd</sup>	MK Road Club	Aaron - 46.04	Ian - 46.47	Sean - 49.27	2.22.18
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Team MK	Glenn - 46.42	Martin - 47.43	Adrian - 48.11	2.22.36
4	QN Racing	Stuart - 46.41	James - 48.07	Stewart - 49.13	2.24.01
5	North Bucks RC	James - 47.28	Mark - 48.20	Rob - 48.45	2.24.33
6	Chronos RT	Ian - 50.46	Kevin - 52.13	Michael - 55.29	2.38.28
7	LBRCC	Martin - 51.10	Robert - 53.45	David - 59.03	2.43.58